UAAP Season 86 Men's Basketball Tournament Mythical Five

The Top Players Of The UAAP Season 86 Men’s Basketball Tournament

There were many talented players in the UAAP Season 86 men’s basketball tournament, but these are the individuals who stood above the rest.

Kevin Quiambao has just joined an elite list of La Salle bigs.

The 6-foot-4 all-around forward from Muntinlupa City was crowned the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Basketball Tournament Most Valuable Player on Sunday at the SMART Araneta Coliseum.

Quiambao becomes the fifth Green Archer to win the league’s highest individual honor after Jun Limpot (Seasons 52, 53, and 55 — 1989, 1990, 1992), Mark Telan (Seasons 59 and 60 — 1996, 1997), Don Allado (Seasons 61 and 62 — 1998, 1999), and Ben Mbala (Seasons 79 and 80 — 2016, 2017).

UAAP Season 86 Men's Basketball Individual Awardees: Kevin Quiambao - MVP
Kevin Quiambao was crowned the MVP of the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Unang una, thank you Lord na nakuha ko itong award na ito. Credit sa lahat ng mga teammates ko, coaching staff, at sa lahat ng boosters ng La Salle,” said the 22-year-old out of Muntinlupa City, also noting that the job is not yet done for the season. His team still has a huge task ahead of them as they face UP in a do-or-die Game 3.

Quiambao also swept the three special awards, Acer of the Season, PSBankable Player of the Season, and Hyundai Stargazer X Exceptional Player of the Season, bagging a total of P200,000.

Quiambao, last season’s Rookie of the Year, was miles ahead in the race.

He averaged 16.71 points, 10.86 rebounds, 6.0 assists, and 1.93 steals per game in the elimination round, amassing 97.0 statistical points.

Joining Quiambao in the Mythical Team are the University of the East’s Noy Remogat, La Salle’s Evan Nelle, the University of the Philippines’ Malick Diouf, and Far Eastern University’s L-Jay Gonzales.

Remogat, a sophomore guard, posted averages of 16.5 points, 7.86 assists, and 2.0 steals per game, accumulating 85.929 SPs.

UAAP Season 86 Men's Basketball Individual Awardees: Rey Ramogat - Mythical Five
Rey Remogat’s stats earned him a spot in this season’s UAAP Mythical Five.
UAAP Season 86 Men's Basketball Individual Awardees: Evan Nelle - Mythical Five
As an integral member of DLSU, Evan Nelle joined teammate Kevin Quiambao in the Mythical Team.

Nelle, a member of the NCAA Season 95 Mythical Team when he was still with San Beda and is in his final year with La Salle, earned 77.538 SPs with stats of 11.31 points, 6.85 assists, 5.0 rebounds, and 2.0 steals per contest.

Season 85’s MVP Malick Diouf secured the fourth spot with 74.769 SPs after averaging 12.08 points, 13.23 rebounds, 1.62 blocks, and 1.15 steals per game.

Finally, Gonzales, another graduating senior, achieved 66.857 SPs with averages of 14.79 points, 7.79 rebounds, 3.14 assists, and 2.0 steals.

UAAP Season 86 Men's Basketball Individual Awardees: Malick Diouf - Mythical Five
Former MVP Malick Diouf still maintained a top spot among the UAAP Season 86 players, taking the fourth spot in the Mythical Five.
FEU Basketball Player L-Jay Gonzales
FEU’s L-Jay Gonzales was the fifth member of the Mythical Team in UAAP Season 86.

Remogat, Nelle, and Gonzales are first-time members of the All-UAAP Five, while Diouf, the Season 84 Finals MVP, makes the team for the second straight season.

The top rookie for the season was UP’s Francis Lopez, the sixth Maroon to win the award after Eric Altamirano (Season 46 – 1983), Woody Co (Season 69 – 2006), Kyles Lao (Season 76 – 2013), Juan Gómez de Liaño (Season 80 – 2017), and Carl Tamayo (Season 84 – 2021).

UP Fighting Maroon Francis Lopez
Francis Lopez was granted the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Basketball Tournament’s Rookie of the Year Award.

Images courtesy of UAAP Media.

King Archer: Kevin Quiambao Is Making History With DLSU

Green Archers vs Fighting Maroons: Which Team Served the Best Looks in the Tunnel?

When Blue and Green Clash: The Roots of the Iconic Ateneo-La Salle Rivalry